12 Comments
author

We’ve been listening to a lot of Beck lately. Hadn’t heard of TALK!

Expand full comment
author

That’s some good roots right there!

Expand full comment

Jason Isbell

Expand full comment
author

His fans love him so much I will give him a longer listen.

Expand full comment

I’ll give these other ones mentioned a listen. Reminds me a bit of Clutch and Tool - bands I listened to a lot when I was younger. Intense.

Expand full comment

https://wishpenny.com/shine_like_new Wishpenny music! "Shine Like New"

Expand full comment

I am listening to The Kinks

Expand full comment

Classical music station all day, always have and glad to be able to get it thru TV. In Denver there was a classical radio station that I even had it on in the car.

Expand full comment

Gorillaz, TALK, Black Keys, Beck...mixed with a lot of contemporary alternative.

Expand full comment

Hi Clint,

I have eclectic tastes. I’m a huge fan of Metallica (they are the ONLY heavy metal band I like); I love an Americana/folk music/storyteller named Shawn Mullins who is in Macon, Georgia (I’ve been listening to him for decades); ‘90s alternative (I know that’s a broad brush, but I like songs that are a certain shade of blue {those songs are in Minor keys} and ‘90s alternative had a lot of that. For example, Evanescence is a major "Blue" artist to me); Vivaldi; Mozart; Billie Eilish; Sarah McLauchlin; Loreena McKennitt; Simon & Garfunkel; Noctura; The Carolina Chocolate Drops; Abby the Spoon Lady; Scott Joplin; Michael Jackson; Prince.

Oh, and Jon Batiste's song and video called "Freedom" you HAVE to watch (the louder the better). I haven't listened to his other work as I can't stop watching "Freedom." It always makes me happy.

There's another video you HAVE to watch. "My Pal's Name is Foot Foot" by The Shaggs. Zascha hates it. I love it. But then, Kurt Cobain loved it, too; and I'm also a Nirvana fan. There’s also a remake of the original several decades later. It’s not quite as good as the original, but it’s still pretty good.

There are a bunch more - especially that Zascha shares with me (we have similar tastes in music) - but I don't remember the names of many of the artists. Anyway, that's kind of an overview of what I listen to.

Dakotah Rae Stone

Expand full comment
author

I’m also a Metallica guy. More generally I’ve been enjoying some bands that are in that same sonic category: you might try All Them Witches. Or Puta Volcano.

Also I wonder what color of bands I like the most. I don’t see the colors so wouldn’t know for sure but I love Radiohead and Warpaint and LCD Soundsystem.

Expand full comment

I am listening to an eclectic mix of Alan Jackson, Chicago , and songs such as Lift High the Cross, Borning Cry. I have paired songs with chapters of a manuscript I’ve been working on.

Expand full comment